Writing in Hollywood: Jan Eliasberg and Rebecca Serle

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Director, Writer, and Producer Jan Eliasberg and Author and Television Writer Rebecca Serle will join us, direct from Los Angeles to celebrate the release of their new books, talk about their career trajectories, and what they've learned along the way. 

Jan Eliasberg is making her debut as a novelist with Hannah's War. For readers of The Nightingale and The Alice Network, Hannah's War is a "mesmerizing" historical debut: “I flew through Hannah’s War, a gripping true story of a brilliant woman physicist working to develop the first atomic bomb and the secrets she fights to protect as a military investigator ruthlessly uncovers her mysterious past.” Martha Hall Kelly (The Lilac Girls; Lost Roses

A glass ceiling-shattering writer/director, Jan’s film and television career began when she was hand-picked by Michael Mann to be the first female director on Miami Vice and Crime Story. Wiseguy, and 21 Jump Street soon followed, establishing her at the top of the field. Jan has directed drama pilots for CBS, ABC and NBC, as well as films and theatre with some of the greatest actors of her generation: Frances McDormand; Michael B. Jordan; Tony Shalhoub; Michelle Williams; Paul Giamatti; Stanley Tucci, and John Turturro. She has directed hundreds of hours of award-winning television including Netflix's Thirteen Reasons Why; The Magicians; Bull; Blue Bloods, N.C.I.S.: Los Angeles, Criminal Minds, Parenthood; Nashville; Supernatural and countless others. A prolific screenwriter, Eliasberg wrote W.A.S.P the story of the Women Air Service Pilots in WWII with Nicole Kidman and Cameron Diaz attached to produce and star; Mi Corazon with Jennifer Lopez attached to produce and star; Before I Sleep with Sophia Lillis (IT, IT2) attached to star; The Gemcutter a YA magical Christmas movie for Sony Pictures, and a “hip-hop” Pygmalion for Warner Brothers. Jan is attached to direct all of her original screenplays. For television, she wrote the pilot, Salem, for FX, and Spirit of St. Louis for CBS. She has also been a writer/producer on television series such as Sisters for NBC/Warner Brothers.

In Five Years is Rebecca Serle's sixth book; perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever. Chloe Benjamin, NYT bestselling author of The Immortalists says:  “What would you do if you glimpsed your life five years from now—and found that it was different, in every way, from what you hoped for and expected? Rebecca Serle pairs this inspired premise with deft, propulsive prose and characters who feel as real as friends. In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.”

Rebecca Serle is an author and television writer who lives in New York and Los Angeles. Serle codeveloped the hit TV adaptation of her YA series Famous in Love, and is also the author of The Dinner List, and YA novels The Edge of Falling and When You Were Mine. She received her MFA from the New School in NYC. 

Event address: 
19 Old Kings Highway South
3rd Floor
Darien, CT 06820-4127