Hopefully the Scarecrow (Hardcover)

Hopefully the Scarecrow By Michelle Houts, Sara Palacios (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Michelle Houts, Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now (PLEASE CALL TO CONFIRM)
On hand as of Sep 30 6:03pm
(CH-PICT HC)

Description


"A beautifully crafted friendship tale that’s just right for storytime." --Kirkus

The perfect Fall book for kids! A poignant picture book about a scarecrow who befriends the young girl who reads to him day after day until one day he's left wondering where she is.


A scarecrow stood in the garden. Tall, proud, and smiling. Every day a girl brought her favorite books to the garden and she read to him. He heard tales of courage and of hope. And when she said, "The End," the scarecrow always felt a little bit taller and braver. Year after year, she came and she read to him.

Until one spring, two different hands picked him up from the garden shed and placed him in the garden. He waited, but she didn't come to read to him.

With poignant words from award-winning author Michelle Houts and lush illustrations by Pura Belpré Honor winner Sara Palacios, Hopefully the Scarecrow is a tender distillation of the enduring power of friendship and a heartwarming look at the ways stories connect us.

Perfect for fans of The Leaf Thief, Fletcher and the Falling Leaves, and The Scarecrow by Beth Ferry and The Fan Bros! 

A great Back-to-School, Autumn, or Halloween read! 

Praise for Hopefully the Scarecrow:

"This is one of the BEST picture books I’ve read so far in 2023. Its writing is clever. The story is well-constructed. And, it made me feel warm and fuzzy things." --Pat Zietlow-Miller, author of Be Kind and Wherever You Go

"A simply told, emotionally satisfying picture book." --Booklist

About the Author


Michelle Houts writes from a restored one-room schoolhouse in Ohio. When she’s not writing, she’s either reading or kayaking. Houts has written more than a dozen picture books and novels for young readers. You can visit Michelle Houts at MichelleHouts.com or follow her on Instagram and Twitter @MHoutsWrites and on Facebook @MichelleHouts.

Sara Palacios is the illustrator of many books for children. She is also the recipient of the Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor for her work on Marisol McDonald Doesn’t Match and the Américas Book Award for Between Us and Abuela. She earned her BFA and MFA degrees in illustration from the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. You can visit Sara Palacios online at SaraPalaciosIllustrations.com.

Praise For…


"This is one of the BEST picture books I’ve read so far in 2023. Its writing is clever. The story is well-constructed. And, it made me feel warm and fuzzy things." --Pat Zietlow-Miller, author of Be Kind and Wherever You Go

"Friendship can withstand time and distance thanks to hope. Houts’ precise, evocative text employs rich vocabulary and will appeal to imaginative youngsters. Palacios’ enchanting illustrations combine a vivid palette of reds, oranges, greens, and blues with an irresistible retro style that lends a timelessness to images of dragons, castles, sailing ships, and tiny scarecrow heroes that accompany scenes of the girl reading aloud. A quiet, beautifully crafted friendship tale that’s just right for storytime." -Kirkus reviews


"The gentle, smoothly written narrative revolves around the scarecrow, a silent, sympathetic character who asks for nothing but appreciates what he receives. The colorful, distinctive illustrations focus on the two main characters, often surrounded by a profusion of flowers that express the idyllic happiness of their times together. A simply told, emotionally satisfying picture book." --Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593206904
ISBN-10: 0593206908
Publisher: Flamingo Books
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English