Peanut Gets Fed Up (Hardcover)

Peanut Gets Fed Up By Dana Wulfekotte, Dana Wulfekotte (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dana Wulfekotte, Dana Wulfekotte (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now (PLEASE CALL TO CONFIRM BEFORE COMING TO STORE)
On hand as of Aug 18 6:06pm
(CH-PICT HC)

Description


A favorite stuffed animal can’t be too loved . . . or can it? Toy Story meets Knuffle Bunny in this picture book exploring the enduring bond between a child and her beloved stuffed penguin. A must-have for fans of Strictly No Elephants and Bear Is a Bear

Peanut the stuffed penguin does everything with Pearl. That means napping and playing, but it also means getting drooled on and dragged around. One day, Peanut has had enough, and she decides to slip out of Pearl’s backpack. At first, life without Pearl is all Peanut ever dreamed of. Freedom! Independence! But then it gets rather lonely.

Peanut begins to wonder if Pearl has found a new favorite toy. Luckily, Peanut could never be replaced, and Pearl shows up just when Peanut needs her the most.

With insight and humor, author-illustrator Dana Wulfekotte chronicles what happens when a stuffed animal ventures out on their own. The simple text and expressive artwork shine a new perspective on growing up and what it means to be a friend. Peanut Gets Fed Up is an irresistible read-aloud that will charm children, parents, and your favorite stuffed animals. 

About the Author


Dana Wulfekotte is the author and illustrator of Rabbit & Possum, and the illustrator of several books for children, including The Remember Balloons, by Jessie Oliveros, which was a Schneider Family Award Honor Book. She lives in Queens, New York.



Dana Wulfekotte is the author and illustrator of Rabbit & Possum, and the illustrator of several books for children, including The Remember Balloons, by Jessie Oliveros, which was a Schneider Family Award Honor Book. She lives in Queens, New York.

Praise For…


“Peanut, a stuffed-animal penguin, remembers Pearl as a baby. . . . It hasn’t always been fun. . . . At the park, the toy ‘accidentally’ falls out of Pearl’s backpack and escapes. At first, the penguin rejoices to be free, but soon they miss Pearl, who finds her toy and takes it home. . . . Simply written and satisfying . . . An endearing read-aloud choice for young children.” — Booklist

“Peanut the stuffed penguin enjoys their young human Pearl most of the time, but when all the drooling and rough playtimes (not to mention the nippy dog) become too much, Peanut plots his great escape at the park. . . . Despite assertions to the contrary, Peanut really does start to miss home . . . Peanut’s emotions are effectively relayed to the viewer with expressive posing and a shifting compositions.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Peanut . . . is a stuffed penguin who is tired of being ripped, chewed, and drooled on by its owner, Pearl. One Saturday morning, Peanut throws itself from Pearl’s backpack and escapes into a park. . . . Sadly, it isn’t long before it misses Pearl. . . . Wulfekotte smartly uses color to accentuate major events. . . . Add this one to your collection.” — School Library Journal

“Narrator Peanut, a stuffed penguin, has been with preschooler Pearl since the very beginning. First words, first steps—Peanut has seen it all. But life with Pearl can be messy, too. . . . The stuffed penguin hatches a plan to escape from Pearl’s mistreatment . . . Until, that is, ‘freedom’ starts to feel awfully lonely . . . Despairing, the penguin falls into trouble, only to find that friendship stands the test of time. . . . A good reminder to hold on to the ones we love—even the stuffed ones.” — Horn Book Magazine



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062455826
ISBN-10: 0062455826
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: April 5th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English